Dark Art Choices

263.jpg

Hi There… Once again we have been rather mean on posting lately because life, travel, work and coven have been taking up our time. I have been trying to write a post about Satanic art but this turned out to be a huge topic and I haven’t got it how I want it yet. In the meantime, in order that we each have something to write about, I have suggested that the three of us each select a couple of pictures from the darker side of art (not necessarily specifically satanic) and say why we like them. I’ll go first.

My first choice is this…

woman-in-the-fire

I think it is called “Woman In The Fire”. Unfortunately I don’t have the credit details but I would be happy to publish them if somebody recognizes this image. I found it on the internet years ago and fell in love with it. To me it symbolizes the freedom experienced when you acknowledge the beauty of the darker side of yourself and the universe and decide to work with it rather than deny it. This was a revealing and transformative process for me and I think this picture captures it well. I could use a lot of words to highlight all the nuances this piece of art has for me but the beauty of art is that the work speaks for itself.

My second choice is a work by Salvador Dali

Dream caused by the flight of a bee around a pomegranate… Salvador Dali

I have always been a huge fan of surrealism in general and Dali in particular. Even as a child I remember thinking there was something deliciously dark and forbidden about Dali’s work. I was slightly ashamed at how much I enjoyed his work. The above image was one of the first posters I had on my wall as a teenager. I’m not sure it is my all time favorite work of Dali’s but it was certainly the first I fell in love with. What do I like about it? The dreamlike quality, perhaps provoked by imbibing something forbidden… The rampant sexuality… The hint of violence and gore in the midst of balance and beauty… The essence of Dali himself; testing and often breaking boundaries. There are many rumors and counter rumors about what Dali’s religious or spiritual beliefs were. To me there is no doubt he was on the Left Hand Path in one form or another. If I had been born in a different time and place I could imagine being one of his muses. *Cassie*

*Sophie*  Cassie and I both enjoy all kinds of art. I like everything from Classical to Pop art, from Rembrandt to Picasso… I might have also chosen something by Dali but Cassie beat me to that. In terms of darker art I guess my tastes are very sexual but I will start with something fairly classical, The Siren by John William Waterhouse

The_Siren

Maybe it doesn’t strike some people as dark but obviously the story behind it is. I like most of Waterhouse’s paintings and the Pre-Raphaelite style in general. In this painting we see a man transfixed by the beauty of the woman unaware that she is about to drag him down into the sea and drown him. Dark enough?

My second choice is Luis Royo. Although his work often contains naked women I always used to find his paintings too shallow, sweet and strangely innocent. Recently however I discovered his “Prohibited sketch books” which are much darker and more overtly sexual than the majority of his popular prints available at art stores. There are a couple of examples below. There are some much darker ones which to my mind have a clearly Satanic theme but unfortunately I suspect they cross the boundaries of what is allowed on WordPress.  Hopefully these ones are innocent enough not to offend anybody but hint at what more there is. (I hate censoring myself).

0d018beff05ee0654fc2d7ca17df79b34d7c15886d24ab6f029cb3fc9e63d579

*Tina* Do you know “The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy” by Tim Burton? Well, that is what I’ll start with. It’s an illustration from a book but that is still art. And if you know the story you will understand why this is the darkest picture in it. Cassie gave me that book a couple of years ago. She said it was “kind of cute stuff for dark souls.” She was right!

oyster boy

My next two are paintings of Lilith. I’m sorry I found them on the internet and don’t know who created them. We will happily give the artists credit if somebody tells us who they are. I love Lilith. I feel a stronger and stronger connection to her. The first one is a more traditional picture of her and is very similar to how I imagine her (except I always imagine her with horns).

image

For me Lilith is the Queen of Demons, a very powerful demon who you would not argue with. She doesn’t take shit from anybody. But she is a woman and she is completely equal to the strongest men. In her tradition she kind of comes before any of the other Christian and Jewish traditions and then gets ignored and they wonder why she is angry! Okay, I think those are just stories which never happened in reality but Lilith represents something real; a strength all women can have. And I have found that if you focus on her, you feel that strength growing in yourself. And here is a more scary image of Lilith I found…

The Black Garden (Lilith) Francisco D

The Black Garden (Lilith) Francisco D

So I found the artist of that one. Yes it is dark and scary, the kind of thing you might see in a nightmare. But part of being a Satanist is confronting your fears. The strange thing is I don’t find that image scary. It is just like an extreme form of life and death and once you accept that it becomes kind of beautiful in a way. Some will get it, some won’t. But nobody is going to mess with Lilith…Or me.


5 Comments on “Dark Art Choices”

  1. peter says:

    very illuminating and inspiring thank you for sharing!

  2. zeppodude says:

    Thank you for sharing. Informative.

  3. ginko211 says:

    I don’t think Lilith was ever dominated by men. People just like that narrative because it fulfils some stereotypes which are popular among certain groups of people. I hate the Adam and Lilith story with a passion because it makes Her seem like someone only interested in dominating and manipulating men.This made it very hard for me to begin working with Her.

    To me, Lilith represents, freedom, self-respect and above all, self-control. She is NOT about domination or controlling others. She is just a very good judge of character who loves those who deserve to be loved and brings hell to those who don’t.

    Oops, sorry for rambling. I get very defensive when it comes to Lilith.

    • Cassie & Sophie says:

      Hello Ginko. In fact I agree with everything you said here. I’m sorry if I gave some other kind of impression in my writing. English is not my first language and sometimes I am a bit lazy and just say things in the shortest way I can think of! Best Wishes, Tina


Leave a Reply

