We are Charlie, but…

image

 

Before we get to the main theme of this post we would like to thank all those who have offered their sympathies and condolences concerning the death of Cassie’s mother. It has been a difficult time for us all and especially for Cassie herself. Slowly but surely Cassie is coping with her loss and she has said that she would like to get back to writing soon. She is planning to write something for our blogs about how this loss has affected her and to personally thank all those who have supported us. In the meantime my daughter and I wanted to write something about our views on the recent terrorist attacks in France and Nigeria. Sophie

Once again our friend at Satanic Views has written an excellent post about the recent terrorist attacks in France. Once again we find we agree with much of the article but disagree with a few things. I guess that is the sign of a good article.

satanicviews.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/on-freedom-of-speech-and-religious-extremism/

We agree that people have to take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences of those actions to some degree. It seems to us however that you can only be responsible for the consequences to a certain degree. It maybe true that the cartoonists of Charlie Hebdo knew that their depiction of Mohamed would insult some people and that some people might react violently. However does that mean they should not have published those articles or that we should all agree that their deaths were a fair and natural consequence of their actions? We don’t think so. To admit such a thing makes us all powerless victims and gives victory to every form of oppressor in advance. If I dress in a sexy and perhaps provocative fashion it does not give anybody the right to rape me. Same thing. Nobody should have to moderate their beliefs or behaviour out of fear of what the most insane overreaction might be. And the cold blooded murder of somebody for drawing a picture is an insane and evil overreaction.

I believe in principle (whether it is written in law or not) we all have a right to revenge. Some more firebrand Satanists seem to revel in this right and use it as a form of threat or intimidation. But revenge must be proportional. If somebody insults something which is sacred to me I have the right to insult something which is sacred to them or, if I am being intelligent and rational, to enter into dialog with them and try and convince them that they were wrong to do what they did and thus prevent the same thing happening again. I do not have the right to kill them just for offending me or something I believe in.

France is an unusually and proudly secular country, a stance which I approve of very much. Anyone can try to convince the French by argument that they shouldn’t be so secular, but nobody has the right to blackmail the French into taking a religious stance with the threat of killing innocent people if they don’t. Okay enough with speaking of this as if we are dealing with civilised people. The terrorists are not civilised and we quite simply must not and cannot give up our historically hard won democratic freedoms to to placate the barbarians.

These barbarians killed people because they drew pictures they did not approve of. Such actions cannot go unchallenged or we may as well give up all our freedoms and civilisation now and go back to living in caves. These people would kill me for being a Satanist. They would kill me for being a lesbian. But equally they would kill people for being Christian, they would kill people for being Jewish, they would kill people for being Hindus or Buddhists, they would kill people for being atheists and they would kill people for being normal Muslims too. In fact they would and they do kill anybody who does not share their views exactly and who does not bow down and obey them without question. They are the antithesis of everything that is civilised.

So while there is of course a certain amount of hype and mixed motivations in today’s rally’s in France, I do stand with the French and all those who are marching today. And I will stand up for the rights of my family and I to enjoy the freedoms we have and to live as we choose. People have the right to disagree and to argue with me but they don’t have the right to kill me just because they oppose or are offended by my views or my lifestyle.

I do have a big “but” however. In the same week there have been two much worse terrorist attacks in Nigeria probably by the group known as Boko Haram. In one up to 2000 may have been massacred at one time and in the other they strapped explosives to a ten year old girl and blew her up killing another 18 people in a busy market. What kind of heinous depravity is that? And yet these atrocities have had almost no coverage in the media.

What happened in France was terrible and I do think it is important to stand up for the values that are under attack there. But what happened in Nigeria was even more monsterous and for all our civilisation I think it is shameful that the western media haven’t given that more coverage.

Sophie.

Yesterday I was babysitting the six year old daughter of a friend of ours. Suddenly she asked me why some people were killed for drawing cartoons. I didn’t know what to say to her.

I am 13 and I like being me. I like being able to wear the clothes I like. I like being able to listen to any kind of music I want. I like going to school (mostly!) and being able to learn things. I like being a Satanist and being able to talk about it here. I want to go to university. I want to get a good job and have a good life. I want more freedoms, not less! I don’t want anybody to think they can kill me just because they don’t like what I say. I want to live. I want to have my own children one day and I want them to be free. Je suis Tina. Je suis Charlie!

 


4 Comments on “We are Charlie, but…”

  1. Cassie & Sophie says:

    Reblogged this on Cassie & Sophie NSFW.

  2. witchjen says:

    This. A thousand times, this.

    The Boko Haram thing has really bothered me, as well. It’s barely been covered.

  3. satanicviews says:

    Good balanced arguments.

  4. G. B. Marian says:

    I’m very sorry to hear of your loss, Cassie. There isn’t a lot anyone can say to console someone of such a blow, but for what it’s worth, please know that my thoughts are with you.

    I probably wouldn’t like it if someone drew an insulting cartoon about Seth for their newspaper, but I certainly wouldn’t kill anyone for it. (Besides, Seth would probably think it’s funny, if He noticed it at all.) I agree with Sophie that if people want to draw insulting cartoons of Mohammed, they should be allowed to do so. Unfortunately, it’s unrealistic to do this and not expect something terrible to happen as a result. It’s also unfortunate that there’s no way to reason with people like the terrorists.


Leave a Reply

