One year on…

Satanicpride

A year has passed since I started this blog. Time for a little self indulgence and reflection.

This blog began as part of my own personal “coming out” as a Satanist. With hindsight I can say that I had probably been a Satanist in all but name for at least a decade; or at least that was the clear direction of my path. But it took me a long time to fully accept and embrace that fact. . Perhaps the biggest stumbling block was fear of how other people would react to me;- given all the negative and sometimes horrific things Satanism is often associated with.  It was my then new girlfriend  who gave me the confidence to take the next step. She was the first person I told about my deepest beliefs and her acceptance was total despite the fact that she was not a Satanist herself.

At first I was not sure if I would even make this blog public. I cringe a bit when I look back at some of my earlier posts which seem a slightly naive and far too apologetic from the perspective I am at now. But they were all part of the journey. As a Satanist and as a human being I am still learning and still growing; and always will be.

I have no regrets at all about my decision to fully commit myself to Satanism and to do so as openly as possible, I only wish perhaps that I had taken that step earlier. During the last year I have made many friends in various Satanic circles, I have joined a Satanic Coven with whom I am able to participate in rituals and celebrations and I have become a member and moderator of a growing Satanic forum.  (Forum Link)  Satanic philosophy, ritual, spirituality and lifestyle are fundamental aspects of who I am. And I like who I am.

I hope my blog reflects my growing confidence and pride in Satanism. Over the year my readership has grown significantly and I would like to thank all those who have supported it. I hope my followers and other readers will continue to find things of interest here; and that I am able to convey another, more positive side of Satanism   as a route to personal development and empowerment which is not often seen in the media.

That is enough looking back. Satanism challenges us to re-evaluate things all the time, to question deeply and to grapple with truths that are often difficult or unpleasant about ourselves and the world around us. The aim is to become better, wiser, more effective and productive people. Some call it self deification. Some might just call it personal progression. We can rest sometimes. We can indulge ourselves to the degree we feel we need. But the main impetus is always onwards. I have many more topics to think and write about, many difficult questions to ask and many more lessons to learn.

Hail Satan!


5 Comments on “One year on…”

  1. kaycers says:

    I think it’s cool that you are so open about your beliefs. I am not a satanist (I’ll admit I don’t really know what that means, I’ll have to read some of your other posts I guess!), but I am slowly realizing I’m pagan. Living in the Bible Belt can make it tricky to have beliefs that are in any way contrary to Catholic or Christian dogma. I am even afraid to tell just anyone that I read Tarot! How silly is that? fear sucks.

    thanks for your strength and courage. i find it inspiring. Good luck to you! 🙂

    • Cassie says:

      Hi kaycers and thanks for your comment. I can imagine it is very hard to admit to having different beliefs when living in the bible belt. It may help to find friends in online communities and forums. That might give you the confidence to explore your true beliefs more deeply and may also help you to find like minded people closer to home. Good luck to you too! 🙂

  2. Happy one year anno of your blog here, and i look forward as always to your intelligent posts. What i like about you Cassie is that you are not a fanatic one way or another, just a devoted follower of your path. And what’s wrong with self-deification? Isn’t that what the Old Serpent told us would happen if we ate of the Tree of Knowledge? Becoming like the gods we already are inside. All of magicke and ole Uncle Al teach us that too. BTW nice logo. Did you design it?

    • Cassie says:

      I’ve always been hungry for that fruit and once you get a taste for it… 😉
      I can’t totally claim credit for the logo. I found the flag, photoshopped it quite a lot and added text.

  3. I believe your blog is a great and honest resource for Satanists. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

